»I love potica. I like Slovenian soup. I love Slovenian gibanica.« Leah (7)

Essays14s

In 2014 the Slovenian Association Melbourne organised the Essay and Lego Competition I am a Slovenian Too. The-book (compiled by Draga Gelt) is published on the Historical Archives of Slovenians in Australia – HASA Victoria. The aim of the essay competition was for the young Slovenians of later generations to express their feelings and if they feel a Slovenian. It is interesting that 70% of all the essays (33) mention Slovenian food culture which indicates how important part of identity a food actually is.

A few personal statements about the Slovenian food, written by some of the youngest Slovenian Australians, published in the mentioned e-book, are quoted below:

Leah Mae Gelt (7), Elwood, Victoria: »I love potica. I like Slovenian soup. I love Slovenian gibanica.«

Thomas Scott (11), Oakleigh, Victoria: »I feel Slovenian too because of these reasons: 1. I enjoy their food. When I went for a meal there it was great because the quality of food was 4-5 stars. It was the best food ever.[…]«

my Ryff (16), Mooroolbark: »The Slovenia people were, and are very nice to us, welcoming us all the time and everywhere. They also forced us to eat more food, even when we were already full and couldn’t eat anymore.[…] «

Lucas Hliš (13), Hobart, Tasmania: »I love Slovenian food such as Strudel, potica, and lots of other foods.[…] My aunt Marina who lives in Queensland is extremely good at baking Slovenian cakes and I always am the one that tests them.[…]«

To read all the published essays, click on the Essay and Lego Competition I am a Slovenian Too (e-book in PDF).

Leave a Reply

